Barrington Award 2024/25

The Statistical and Social Inquiry Society of Ireland would like to announce the opening of nominations for the Barrington Medal.

The Barrington Medal is awarded annually by the Council of the Statistical and Social Inquiry Society of Ireland under the auspices of the Barrington Trust (founded in 1836 by the bequest of John Barrington).

The prize, which includes a silver medal, will also include an increased financial award of €2,500.

- Candidates must not be more than 40 years of age as of December 30th 2024.
- Candidates should submit a detailed abstract of approximately 1,000 words on the proposed lecture which should be on a topic of relevance to economic or social policy and of current interest in Ireland.
- Candidates should also submit a short CV and the name of a proposer who is familiar with their work should also be submitted.
- Any Member of the Society may propose a candidate and are encouraged to do so.
- Nominations, accompanied by CVs and abstracts, will be accepted up to the close of business on June 14th 2024 and should be sent to <u>StatisticalandSocialInquiry@gmail.com</u>, as should any queries regarding this announcement.

The successful candidate shall give a lecture to the society. The lecture should be based on a paper of not more than 7,500 words, to be prepared once the award is made.

- In treating the issue of economic or social policy, the paper may either report the findings of a statistical research study dealing with some aspect of the problem or deal with the underlying theoretical considerations involved, or preferably combine these two approaches. It should be written in a manner that makes it accessible to non-specialists in the area. More technical material may be included in an appendix.
- The paper is published in the Journal of the Society, so it should not have been published before (nor should it be published subsequently without the prior consent of the Council of the Statistical and Social Inquiry Society of Ireland).
- As the award is intended to recognise a promising new researcher in the economic and social sciences in Ireland, award criteria are based on a

consideration of the contribution of the candidate overall to research in the economic and social sciences in Ireland, as well as the proposed lecture.

Recipients in the past 35 years include: Deirdre McHugh, Don Thornhill, George Lee, Alan Joyce, Daniel McCoy, Brian Lucey, Kevin O'Rourke, Siobhan Lucey, Mary Walsh, Philip Lane, Aidan Kane, Donal O'Neill, Peter Clinch, Ciara Whelan, Colm Harmon, Ronnie O'Toole, Cathal O'Donoghue, Paul McNicholas, Mary Keeney, Liam Delaney, Martina Lawless, Cal Muckley, Orla Doyle, Yvonne McCarthy, Ronan Lyons, Mark McGovern, Rebecca Stuart, Karina Doorley, Daragh Clancy, Barra Roantree, Niall Farrell, Paul Kilgarriff, Pierce Daly and Alan Fernihough.